Hershey Bears Announce 2012 Hall of Fame Class

On October 30, 2012, in News, by Kyle Mace

Tuesday morning, in the latter part of Hurricane Sandy coming through Central PA, the Hershey Bears announced their 2012 Hall of Fame Class. Lloyd S. Blinco, Arthur Fausnacht, Ralph Keller, Willie Marshall, Frank Mathers, Mike Nykoluk, and John B. Sollenberger will all be inducted into the Bears Hall of Fame December 19th, 2012 when the Bears take on the Norfolk Admirals.

Via the Bears, here are the bios for the seven inductees


Lloyd S. Blinco was associated with the franchise that ultimately became the HERSHEY BEARS as a player, coach and executive from 1932 until his retirement in 1973. A native of Grand’Mere, Quebec, Blinco played for the inaugural Hershey B’ars team in 1932-33 and also served as head coach of the Hershey Cubs in the Eastern Amateur Hockey League in 1938-39. The late Blinco served as President and General Manager of the BEARS from 1949-73 and won the James C. Hendy Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding executive in 1968-69.


Arthur Fausnacht served as an AHL linesman for 23 years and an AHL goal judge for 26 years. The late Fausnacht was a graduate of the Hershey Vocational School.


Ralph Keller played for the BEARS from 1963-74 and ranks first in club history for points by a defenseman (408) and games played by a defenseman (737). A native of Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Keller held the AHL record for goals scored by a defenseman (111) at the time of his retirement. Keller was named a first-team AHL All-Star in 1968-69 and captained the 1973-74 HERSHEY Calder Cup championship team.


Willie Marshall played for the BEARS from 1956-63 and is the AHL’s all-time leader in points (1,375), goals (523), assists (852) and games played (1,205). A native of Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Marshall ranks fifth in all-time HERSHEY scoring (570 points in 439 games) and won the AHL scoring title with the BEARS in 1958-59. Marshall was inducted into the AHL Hall of Fame in 2006.


Frank Mathers was associated with the BEARS as a player, coach and executive from 1956 until his retirement in 1991. A native of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Mathers was voted a first-team AHL All-Star defenseman for five consecutive seasons from 1951-56 and ranks first in all-time HERSHEY coaching wins (610) and first in all-time AHL games coached (1,256). The late Mathers was awarded the Lester Patrick Trophy in 1987 and was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1992 and into the AHL Hall of Fame in 2006.


Mike Nykoluk played for the BEARS from 1958-72 and ranks first in HERSHEY history in games played (972), points (808) and assists (636). A native of Toronto, Ontario, Nykoluk recorded 50-plus assists in seven straight seasons and was named the AHL’s Most Valuable Player in 1966-67. Nykoluk was inducted into the AHL Hall of Fame in 2007.


John B. Sollenberger was credited with introducing hockey to HERSHEY in 1931 and helped found the first Hershey B’ars Hockey Club in 1932. Sollenberger led the BEARS into what is now known as the AHL in 1938-39 and served as the club’s General Manager until 1949. The late Sollenberger is the namesake of the John B. Sollenberger Trophy, awarded annually to the AHL’s leading scorer.

The Bears will also honor Milton S. Hershey, who was the founder of the Hershey Bears franchise