skip to Main Content

Rochester Americans send Hershey Packing, 5-2

In a match-up of the league’s most storied teams, the Bears were looking for a solid win on the road after experience some issues in this stretch.

Sadly, it didn’t turn out like they hoped. It started off just like we wanted it to. A gritty play resulted in Matt Pope chipping at puck at David Leggio. It took a nice bounce and hopped into the goal. But the Amerks scored on the power play and then during the final minute of the period to take the lead.

The second period was ugly. The Bears were whistled for four penalties and allowed the Amerks to score two more times. All that and the Bears didn’t manage to get another goal of the board.

With it looking very grim, the Bears started the third period with their final chance to make a comeback. Rochester started the period by scoring their fifth goal against Braden Holtby.

But it wasn’t all bad news as Graham Mink potted a power play goal. The Bears had several power play opportunities in the final people but were unable to convert. Bears lose, 5-2. Shake it off, we have a game to play tomorrow.

Tonight’s Notes:

  • A few line-up changes that were noted in this week’s Chocolate Fix: Just to keep us on our toes, the Capitals recalled Keith Aucoin just three days after sending him back to Hershey. Hope that guy gets frequent flyer miles. Also, Christian Hanson is week-to-week with a wrist laceration that will require surgery.
  • Additionally, David de Kastrozza (who spent a good portion of last season with the Bears) is out for the rest of the Sting Rays’ season with a knee injury.
  • The bad news is that the Bears allowed two power play goals. But that doesn’t seem so bad when you consider that Rochester had seven power plays. The Bears were 1-for-5 on the man advantage.

Lines and Pairings:

Kane – Potulny – Bourque
Greentree – Eakin – Micflikier
Pope – Carman – Mink
King – Carroll – Mitchell

McNeill – Collins
Marshall – Kundratek
Brouillette – Miskovic

Three stars of the game:

1. Corey Tropp (RCH)
2. Dennis Persson (RCH)
3. Colin Stuart (RCH)

This Post Has One Comment

Comments are closed.

Back To Top