skip to Main Content

Boyd Kane Named Playing Captain for 2012 All-Star Classic

Photo by Kyle Mace

The AHL announced today that Boyd Kane will be the playing captain for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic. He will be representing the Eastern Conference and this will be his first All-Star appearance.

Captains for the American Hockey League All-Star teams are selected by the league president in recognition of their outstanding service and leadership to the AHL.

Making his first career AHL All-Star Classic appearance, Boyd Kane is a three-time Calder Cup champion who served as the captain of title teams in Philadelphia (2005) and Hershey (2006). He has played 821 games – second-most among all active players – in his 14 AHL seasons, putting up 189 goals and 256 assists for 445 points, and he is also tied for fourth place all-time with 118 career Calder Cup Playoff games played. This season with Hershey, Kane has recorded eight goals, five assists and a team-best plus-10 rating in 24 games. The native of Swift Current, Sask., will captain the Eastern Conference All-Star team in Atlantic City next month.

You can see the full article from the AHL here.

Kane joins a list of current and former Bears that have been selected for this honor. Among recent Captains are Keith Aucoin, Graham Mink, Alexandre Giroux, Bryan Helmer, Mark Wotton and more. A couple more of note are AHL Hall of Famers Tim Tookey and Mitch Lameroux.

Darren Haydar of the Chicago Wolves will server as the captain for the Western Conference.

Previously, the AHL had announced that Bill Barber and Bob Clarke would be serving as honorary Captains. Barber spent parts of 2 different season as head coach for the Bears.

Back To Top